Governor Johnson's Township Scheem

  • Governor Johnson's plan established ten frontier townships-twenty thousand acres each.

  • Townships include in-town lots for living and out-town lands for farming.

  • Townships also included extra lots for churches and schools.

  • Townships could send one or two members to the colonial assembly when the population reached a hundred householders. (Meriwether 1940, 19).

  • See the South Carolina Council journal entry, which recorded the Council's ordering of the Saxe Gotha Township. View Township Map (Edgar 1998, 53)


Return to Colonial Times